Call for options for h. c. ørsted Gold Medal in Physics

Call for options for h. c. ørsted Gold Medal in Physics

The Company for the Dissemination of Natural Learning (SNU) has decided that two awards will be awarded in cooperation with the Danish Science Society during the 200th anniversary of H. C. Ørsted's discovery of electromagnetism (1820).

The awards consist of a gold medal and a travel grant of DKK 75,000 and are funded by ørsted.

The first in chemistry was awarded in autumn 2019 to Professor Karl Anker Jørgensen, Aarhus University, the second awarded in physics in autumn 2020.

The NOW Executive Board has set up a
nomination committee composed of the following persons:

Professor Klaus Bock, President
Professor Torkild Andersen
Professor Anja Boisen
Professor Mogens Høgh Jensen
Professor Povl Krogsgaard-Larsen

Options for the physics prize consisting of motivation and a full CV are requested to be sent to the chairman of the nomination committee by 31 March 2020 on the following

The gold medal and prize are expected to be presented by Her Majesty the Queen during autumn 2020 as part of the HCØ2020 celebration at a ceremony supported by the Carlsberg Foundation.

Criteria for awarding the H.C. Ørsted medal

The H.C. Ørsted Medal in gold is awarded for excellent scientific work in the fields of physics and chemistry, as well as for the dissemination of research for a wider circle. These must be world-class research and the recipient must have published in the last six years. The laureate must be of Danish nationality or the award-winning work must be done in Denmark in the case of a foreign laureate.

There is no application form. However, please stay within 1 A4 sheet with normal legible typography for the motivation. There are no restrictions on the length of the full CV.

You can read more about the medal and former medallists here